Ahmed Tifachi

A. Kacem Chebbi

Abdelaziz Thaalbi

M.T Ben Achour

PRESENTATION > GREAT FIGURES

 

TAHAR HADDAD

He was born in Tunis in 1899 (C.E). He attended the Zitouna Mosque, obtained the “At-Tatwii” degree and, in 1919, was crossed off the list of candidates for the law exams on account of his opinions and stands judged by the conservatives as incompatible with Islam.
He joined the Destour Liberal Party as soon as it was founded in 1920 (C.E). He was the co-founder, together with the trade unionist Muhammad Ali Hammi (1894-1928 C.E), of the first Tunisian independent trade unionist movement not affiliated to the French trade unions.
He authored a book The Tunisian Workers and the Advent of Trade Unionism published in 1927 C.E. After he published, in 1930 C.E, his book “Our Women in Shari’a (Islamic Law) and Society, he was persecuted by most of the Zitouna Sheikhs, the conservatives and other biased elements. He was forced to retire until he died on December 7, 1935 (C.E). In 1975 (C.E), the Arab Book Publishing House published a book he had authored “Thoughts.”

Ahmed Tifachi

A. Kacem Chebbi

Abdelaziz Thaalbi

Mohamed Taher Ben Achour

PRESENTATION > GRANDES FIGURES D'EZ-ZITOUNA

 

TAHAR HADDAD

Né à Tunis en 1899, il fait ses études a la mosquée Ezzitouna où il obtient le diplôme «  Attatoui’ ». En 1919, il est expulsé des examens du diplôme de droit, en raison de ses opinions et de ses prises de positions considérées par les conservateurs comme incompatibles avec l’Islam.

 Il adhère au Parti libre du Destour tunisien dés sa création en 1920 G. il a participé, aux cotés de Mohamed Ali Al-Hammi (1894-1928 G.), à la fondation du premier mouvement ouvrier tunisien autonome, indépendant des syndicats français.

Il est l’auteur d’un ouvrage intitulé «  les travailleurs tunisiens et l’avènement du mouvement syndical », édité en 1927 G. A la suite de l’édition, en 1930 G, de son  ouvrage « Imraatouna fi achari’a walmojtamaa » (Notre femme dans de la chari’a et dans la socité) il fut l’objet de persécutions  de la part des cheiks de la Zitouna , des conservateurs et des éléments tendancieux et dut se retirer de la vie publique jusqu’à sa mort le 7 Décembre 1935. 

En 1975, la Maison Arabe du Livre lui édita un ouvrage intitulé « Khaouater » (reflexions).