Ahmed Tifachi

A. Kacem Chebbi

Tahar Haddad

M.T Ben Achour

PRESENTATION > GREAT FIGURES

 

ABDELAZIZ THAALBI


He was born in 1875 (C.E) in Tunis. He attended the Zitouna Mosque but dropped out in 1895. He took interest in journalism and, in the same year, founded the Newspaper Sabilu Arrached. He also contributed to founding the newspaper Al-Hadhira and the Arabic language newspaper At-Tunisi (The Tunisian).
In 1901 (C.E) he left Tunisia for Egypt where he joined Sheikh Muhammad Abdu and Sheikh Rashid Rhida in response to their call for religious and social reform.
His book Ruhu Al-Qoran (The Spirit of the Koran), he wrote in 1904, gave rise to an outcry among the colonialists; he was consequently given a two-month jail sentence. Following the Zallaj Cemetery incidents he, in 1912 (C.E), was transported to France. He then left for Turkey and later for the Middle East. Back to Tunisia, he wrote Martyred Tunisia (1914 C.E).
In 1919 (C.E), he founded the Destour Liberal Party. The latter was officially proclaimed on June 3, 1920 (C.E).
In 1923 (C.E), he emigrated to France then to Italy and finally to the Extreme East. Back home in 1937, he retired from politics following a disagreement with Habib Bourguiba. He Died on October 1st 1944.
Thaalbi is renowned for his interest in the Arabic language he considered an essential national component. He devoted full passages in Martyred Tunisia to the defense, promotion, teaching and popularization of the national language.

Ahmed Tifachi

A. Kacem Chebbi

Tahar Haddad

Mohamed Taher Ben Achour

PRESENTATION > GRANDES FIGURES D'EZ-ZITOUNA

 

ABDELAZIZ THAALBI


Né en 1875 à Tunis, il fait ses études à la Mosquée Ez- Zitouna qu’il quitta en 1895 sans y terminer ses études. Portant son intérêt à la presse, il fonda en 1895 le journal «  Sabilou Arrached » et contribua à la fondation du journal « Al-Hadhira » et dirigea le journal d’expression arabe « Attounisi » (Le Tunisien).

 En 1901, il quitte la Tunisie pour l’Egypte où il rejoint Cheikh Mohamed Abdou et Cheik Rachid Ridha, tant il était sensible à leur appel pour la reforme aussi bien religieuse que sociale. 

Son ouvrage « Rouhou Al-Qor’an » (l’Esprit du Coran), écrit en 1904 et édité en français, provoqua le tollé des colonialistes, ce qui lui a valu d’être emprisonné durant deux mois. A la suite des incidents du cimetière Azzallaj survenus en 1912 G., il a été déporté en France qu’il quitte quelque temps après, pour se rendre d’abord en Turquie puis au Moyen Orient. De retour en Tunisie en 1914 G., il écrit son livre intitulé « La Tunisie Martyre ». 

C’est en 1919 G. qu’il fonda le Parti libre du Destour tunisien  (Parti libre constitutionnel tunisien », dont la création officielle fut annoncée officiellement le 3 Juin 1920 G.  

En 1923 G., il quitte la Tunisie pour émigrer en France puis en Italie et enfin aux proche et extrême Orient. De retour en Tunisie en 1937, et à la suite de son différend avec Bourguiba, il se retire de la vie politique pour se consacrer aux affaires de sa famille jusqu’à sa mort le 1er Octobre 1944. 

Il s’est intéressé particulièrement à la langue arabe en tant que l’une des composantes essentielles de l’entité nationale, lui consacrant, dans son ouvrage « La Tunisie martyre », plusieurs passages pour la défendre et promouvoir son enseignement et sa vulgarisation.